The Runaway Muse

Icon

A personal blog

DIY Fringe Tank Top

Sometimes when I have nothing better to do, I like to pretend that I have loads of money to spend on clothes and browse fancy online boutiques.  Even if I never end up buying anything (read: 99.5% of the time), I love looking at the pretty pictures and getting fashion inspiration.  One of my favorite websites is FreePeople.com.  Their look is very bohemian–earthy, flowy, and hippie-esque.  Every time I visit I end up drooling over the photos and wishing I was married to a wealthy Italian prosthodontist so I could afford to buy every single item in the shop.  That, and build a massive treehouse mansion with my own personal library.  But that’s going a bit too far, isn’t it?

The point is that yesterday I was browsing Free People’s new arrivals when I happened upon this tank top:

Now, I love fringe.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’ve just always been afraid to wear it in public, fearful that I will be a) mistaken as a biker chick or b) worse, a cowherd escaped from ancient Mesopotamia.  When I saw this tank top, however, I thought that maybe, just maybe, I could pull it off.  The problem, as always, was the price tag.  No way was I paying $78 plus shipping costs for a flimsy tank top.  But what if I could make something similar myself?

I’ve had this oversized Radiohead t-shirt since Christmas break, when I bought it from Urban Outfitters thinking that it would drape on me with the graceful carelessness with which it draped on the stick-thin model.  As you can see from the above picture, it ended up making me look like I was wearing a pillowcase.  Because of this, I never wore it, which was a pity because it’s such an awesome design.  So it was the perfect candidate for my experiment to replicate the tank top by Free People.

After quite a bit of scissor work, this was the finished result:

Behold the fringe!

I’m quite proud of myself for how well it turned out, especially since I didn’t follow a tutorial and was acting completely on impulse.  Absolutely no sewing was involved, and the entire project only took about an hour to complete.  I only wish I had taken pictures during the transformation process so I could post step-by-step directions on this blog.  Let me know what you guys think!

Filed under: Arts and Crafts, Photography

2 Responses

  1. mariellahunt says:

    WOW.
    Now I want to make clothes like this. SO badly.
    This is sheer brilliance!!

  2. martha says:

    Wow! I’ve never been a huge fan of the fringe trend myself, but I have to say that is some truly awesome work! And you look amazing in it, so you shouldn’t be afraid to wear fringe ;)

Leave a Reply

About the girl


Christina. 18. College student. Lover of words, sublime images, fat books and skinny jeans. Dislikes melting snow, the color pink, and procrastination.

This blog is an outlet for my jumbled thoughts. Thank you for stopping by.

Runaway-Muse @ Flickr

More Photos
