The Runaway Muse

Icon

A personal blog

Two thousand ten.

Tonight is my last night at home for three months.  I should be packing, but instead I feel like sitting in the dark with a pile of deliciously musty books to my left and the glow of a pine-scented candle on my right.  This is how it should be, right now.

I wanted to write about what the year 2010 meant to me.  After all, it has probably been the most influential year of my life to date.  But when I lie in bed staring at the ceiling and ponder the last 365 days of my life, it all seems to flash before my memory in a blur of lost feelings and lingering moments which I can almost grasp, but not quite.

Last year, I lost and found myself.  Multiple times.

Last year, I laughed until I cried.

Last year, I was hospitalized.

Last year, I met people who saved my life in more ways than one.

Last year, I found reasons to live when all I wanted to do was fall asleep and never wake up.

Last year, I compared myself to others.

Last year, I went to the Dominican Republic and completely changed my perspective.

Last year, I gave my testimony at my own high school graduation.

Last year, I moved 700 miles away from home to attend a university which I had never visited.

Last year, my comfort zone was obliterated…and I survived just fine.

Last year, I learned to hold my tongue.

Last year, I heard God’s voice.

This year, I want to learn from the past.  I want to take bold steps forward and become more confident and stop making excuses.  I want to stop beating myself up for things that are out of my control.

I want to look back at 2011 and say, “That was the year everything changed for the better.”

Filed under: Everyday Ramblings

One Response

  1. Debbie says:

    Christina, you’re a jewel (even if you did make me cry…) You remind me of me as a young writer – – except you learn faster.
    Maybe we’ll see each other over the summer. I miss your mom :)

Leave a Reply

About the girl


Christina. 18. College student. Lover of words, sublime images, fat books and skinny jeans. Dislikes melting snow, the color pink, and procrastination.

This blog is an outlet for my jumbled thoughts. Thank you for stopping by.

Runaway-Muse @ Flickr

